Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Aug 5, 2016 in Insurance | 0 comments

File an SR-22 and Restore Your Driving Privileges in Minutes

The worst consequence of getting involved in an accident without auto insurance, getting your driver’s license suspended or revoked, or being cited for: driving under the influence (DUI); reckless driving; three moving violations in just one year; and driving without auto liability insurance, is getting required by a court to carry an SR-22 filing.

An SR-22 is a certificate which your car liability insurance provider will send to your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), informing this agency that you are covered and, therefore, has the financial capability to compensate anyone who you may injure or whose property you may damage in an accident wherein you are at fault (compensation, of course, will not be paid by you but by your car insurance provider).

If you already have insurance coverage prior to being required to carry an SR-22 filing, all you need to do add the SR-22 filing in your insurance policy. However, if you are uninsured, then before you can file an SR-22, you will first need to purchase a car insurance policy.

If you are uninsured and chose to drive without insurance because you find car insurance too costly, then an SR-22 requirement can definitely hurt. First, because an SR-22 will make your car insurance policy still more expensive. Second, because this usually lasts for three years, but can be extended by a judge to five years if you had been required to file it due to a DUI offense. This means paying higher premiums (which you have tried hard to avoid) for three or five years. Third, there is an an SR-22 filing fee (the fee varies by state, but usually falls between $15 and $25).

An SR-22 is the only thing that can immediately lift the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. To continue enjoying your driving privileges, you should never lapse in paying your insurance premium or cancel your insurance coverage altogether, otherwise, your car insurance provider will notifying your state’s DMV about the cancellation of your insurance coverage (since this is one of its legal obligations); this will result to your license getting suspended or revoked again.
According to the website of Second Gear Magazine, even if you had been required to carry an SR-22 filing, finding the policy that will provide you all the coverage you need at a rate that fits your budget is just a phone call away or just requires a few clicks on your computer keyboard.

Independent car insurance firms exist to protect the interests of customers who need to be insured. By providing customers with free online insurance, as well as SR-22, quotes, customers are able to compare policy coverage and prices from a wide range of insurers. Compare, choose and purchase the policy you need and get your insurance ID card instantly via email; this is the same if you need to file an SR-22.

Read More

Posted by on Sep 19, 2014 in Insurance | 0 comments

Car Insurance in Illinois

The state of Illinois follows the modified comparative fault which means that you can get compensation seven if you have some fault for the accident, but the amount will be deducted by the percentage that is equal to your share of liability. However, if your liability for the accident is over 50 percent, you will not be given compensation under the Illinois comparative negligence law. According to the website of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, it’s because of these laws that it is important to have car insurance to make sure that your well-being and property are covered in an event of an accident.

Because of the “fault” system that the state of Illinois follows, the person or persons who are liable for an accident is legally responsible for compensating those who have been injured or suffered property damage. This generally means that, directly or indirectly, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will cover for the damages and losses that the victims have gone through. Being the victim, you can get compensation is three ways: first is by filing a personal injury claim against the person or persons at-fault for the accident, second is by filing a claim to your insurance company (expecting that the loss is included), and lastly by filing a claim straight to the at-fault person’s insurance company. Chicago car insurance companies, just as with any companies is other states, have requirements. Illinois laws demand their motorists to have liability insurance, namely: $20,000 for death or injury of one person (whether you, a passenger, pedestrian, or another driver), $15,000 to cover for property damage, and $40,000 for injury or death or more than one person due to the accident.

As Habush Habush & Rottier S.C.® have determined, it is more expensive to NOT have insurance rather than having one. Accidents can be very expensive, and being in one without car insurance can cause serious financial issues to you and your family. Being a motorist, you shouldn’t be getting car insurance just because the law requires it, but because you need to be financially covered for possible medical and repair expenses to yourself and other people should an accident occur.

Read More